Both the Order of the Arrow and the Pellissippi Lodge have a rich history of recognizing Scouts and Scouters and providing service to the Boy Scouts of America.
In 1915, Camp Director E. Urner Goodman and Assistant Camp Director Carroll A. Edson searched for a way to recognize select campers for their cheerful sprits of service at Treasure Island Scout Camp in the Delaware River. Goodman and Edson founded the Order of the Arrow when they held the first Ordeal Ceremony on July 16th of that year. By 1921, as the popularity of the organization spread to other camps, local lodges attended the first national gathering called a Grand Lodge Meeting.
The Order of the Arrow was an idea brought to this council by Elmer Hawkins, who was serving as Assistant Scout Executive and Camp Director at Camp Pellissippi in the summer of 1942. Mr. Hawkins was no stranger to the Order, as he had experience in starting the Sequoyah Lodge #184 in the Sequoyah Council in Johnson City, TN.
The History of the Scouting in Knoxville actually began before the official forming of the Boy Scouts of America. Local businessman William Perry "Buck" Toms read about the Scouting movement going on in England and decided to contact Lord Baden-Powell to learn more. Toms formed the first troop, Troop 1, in Knoxville in 1909. Other troops soon followed and the first area-wide camping event was held at Chilhowee Park in 1912.
The History of Camp Pellissippi
The History of Camp Buck Toms